”An Act to take away the Benefit of Clergy from some kind of Manslaughter.”



“An act to take away the Benefit of Clergy from some kind of Manslaughter” is a law invented by the Reigns of Elizabeth and James I. Before the invention of this law Clergy could basically do whatever they wanted to do.  The Clergy had it just as our Swedish king today. The Swedish king cannot be judge for murder or driving too fast. It was the same with the Clergy. When this law came, the Clergy did not have the same “freedom” any more. (If you can call it freedom to murder someone without being judge for it.) The Clergy became more like ordinary people in the society. The Clergy could now be judged for some kind of manslaughter.

I think this law is good. I mean, just because you are one type of person it does not mean that you can do whatever you want to do without consequences. Every person on this earth is equal. The job or place in the society should not matter.  I think it is strange that the Clergy had the benefit to do some kind of manslaughter earlier. I also find it very strange that our King today have the same benefit as the Clergy had back in days.  Our King and the Clergy should be good role models for the society. So, of course they should have the exact same rules as the rest of the society.

 

/ Linnéa.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

Very good article Linnéa!

I think in the same way as you. I don't think that a king could do what ever he wants without consequenses.

When you wrote;" the job or place should not matter" I started to think of today's socienty, that the men earn more money than women (this is not related to the article but I just started to think at that) and that is totally wrong! Everyone should be equal!



I also think that it is wrong that our king have the same benefit as the Clergy had. What if our king murdered someone?

2011-04-14 @ 16:06:21
Postat av: Marielle

Forgot to write my name! It was me, Marielle :D

2011-04-14 @ 16:08:02
Postat av: jakob lundén

Good entry!

I totaly agree with you but I think in our society today, shouldn't it be able for the king to murder someone and not be punished for it because of the media with newspaper and such would the pressure from the masses became so big so that the swedish people wouldn't probably have the same king anymore may not even monarchy.

2011-04-14 @ 22:15:49
Postat av: Linnéa

thank you so much!

I thought over rich and poor people in the society as well. We all should be equal, whether we are men or women, rich or poor.

I think as you Jakob. There are a lot of swedes that does not like that we have monarchy, so I think that the monarchy will fall if the King will murder someone or do something else stupid. But it is just so weird that it could be like this.

2011-04-17 @ 22:59:39

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0