A feeble body weakens the mind. (Jean-Jacques Rousseau)

 

This is completely my opinion because everyone knows that if you don’t exercise your body will crash down. The problem is that I don’t think that society and the state pushes people and most young people to exercise and practise. Every single football club around us having problems with the economy and that’s makes it difficult for the clubs to have people who wants to deal with us young players. To motivate people you need good coaches and to have good coaches they also have to wants to come and take time three to four times a week. If we would have some more money it would be more fun to come up to the pitches and maybe dress on the same clothes which we borrow from the club and when we come back the next day they are washed again. Sport is something that put thousands of people in exercise but we still have to work like h**l to keep our “business” going. Have you ever heard of any kind of cultural related collections that went out for selling tickets or inventory food stores for example? Not in our city anyway, they have all the money they need from municipality. I’m kind of a sport nerd so I see the problem from only one side and have probably in some points very wrong, but when everyone says that health is one of the most important thing with our body have I one solution that most people don’t care about. Make people more engaged in sports of any kind because if you make young people think it is fun to exercise when you are little you will keep doing it when you grow up.

by: Jakob Lundén


Kommentarer
Postat av: Lia

Interesting article, Jakob.

However, I completely disagree. A person may e.g. have some kind of handicap that makes them very physically weak and/or makes it easy for that person to catch a disease. These people may however be the most brilliant people in the world, like Stephen Hawking for example.

Though I am a bit unsure about the exakt meaning of a "feeble body". Does it refer to a physically weak body or someone who easily gets ill? Or maybe both, or maybe even something completely different, if I've completely misunderstood? :p

I just want to add that I probably see it this way since I've got a physical handicap, mainly a muscle weakness, and I've never been quite fit. This hasn't been because I haven't wanted to, or haven't tried enough, but because I simply haven't been physically able. I do however think that my mind is perfectly good anyways, even though my body is quite feeble ;)

2011-03-25 @ 14:39:52
Postat av: Ylva

Very interesting entry, and comment from Lia! I think it's important in this context to point out that Rousseau (and I think Jacob too) by "feeble" mean a body that is not taken well care of, "abused". No matter what nature gave you, perfect health or any kind of disability or illness, Rousseau means that we must take care of the body we've got as best we can, because not caring about our physical health has a negative baring on our mental state of mind, according to R.

2011-03-25 @ 15:05:57

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0