“Behind every successful man stands a surprised mother-in-law"


Voltaire

 

This is a quote from a famous philosopher called Voltaire. I found this on a site with quotes from Voltaire and this quote really catches my eye. What I like with this one is that it makes you laugh but it is still some truth in it. When I first saw this quote I just thought that it was a fun quote but I think that it’s fun because it has a truth in it. I think that a lot of parents are a bit of suspicious against the man that comes into their daughter’s life, so therefore do I think that it’s a good quote. You don’t want your child to get hurt and maybe you can get a little bit hard against the person that want to marry your daughter/son. You might think the worst about this person just because you want to protect your child and therefore you might get surprised when your son-in-law or daughter-in-law get successful. But of course this isn’t how all mothers- and fathers-in law act when their child/children is getting married. But I think about what I’ve written could be an explanation for what he meant by this quote.

 

But I have no idea what Voltaire really meant by this quote. Maybe something had happened to him that gave him this apprehension. That mother-in-law always had very low expectations of their son-in-law, and if they succeeded, they got surprised just because they hadn’t expected it of them.

For more quotes from Voltaire, check this site out:

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/v/voltaire.html

 

By Ebba Jakobsson van Stam


Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

very true, parents only mean well^^ saw a whole documentary on parents that wanted their children only to be with ONE person their entire life, those criterias scared me:O

2011-03-30 @ 17:33:24
Postat av: VICTORIA

Thumbs up for the first picture on this blog!



Is it funny that a man wrote/said this? Good quote, and a nice article!(:

2011-03-31 @ 20:06:30
Postat av: Gabriel

First post is me btw

2011-04-01 @ 11:18:00
Postat av: Anonym

First post is me btw

2011-04-01 @ 11:18:07
Postat av: Gabriel

First post was by me btw

2011-04-01 @ 11:44:00
Postat av: Nora

I think we've got your point Gabriel! :)

2011-04-03 @ 17:07:49

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0